Home

April 3rd, 2017

Tapes

Time is scarce when you are a full time college student, with a part time job, holding a leadership position within your sorority, and trying to maintain a social life. However, that little time I do have between breaths is spent watching Netflix shows to help me unwind. On March 31st a new Netflix series, “13 Reasons Why” produced by Selena Gomez aired. It has been 3 days since the show came out, and already social media, as well as my roommate, have not stopped raving about it. Only having looked at the synopsis given on Netflix so far, I can tell I’m going to be hooked very quick; the topic of bullying, and suicide hits pretty close to home for me.

IMG_6207.JPG

Netflix can be accessed from all different platforms, here from an XBOX connected to a TV.

April 7th, 2017

Tapes 1-3

13 episodes, a play on the title of course, at an hour long an episode, and I have already watched 6 episodes. It’s a good show, one that kind of makes you reflect on how you treated people in high school, or even how you were treated in high school. From the episodes that I have watched, I am only gathering a sense of revenge that the main character, Hannah, who committed suicide, wants to have on her “bullies”. I use quotes around the term bully because the kids on Hannah’s tapes were for the most part her friends, and had no intentions on hurting her, or did not even realize they were hurting her until they listened to their tapes. I understand that the show is done with the purpose to entertain, which in tern has added over the top drama. However I do hope that in the end, there is more of a solid reason for the tapes, and not just a reason to taunt the people she left behind with the guilt of being the reason she ended her life.

IMG_6205.JPG

Netflix home screen lists season one episodes and summaries of each show.

April 11th, 2017

Selena’s Backlash

With so many sensitive topics being touched on the show (suicide, bullying, sexuality) I couldn’t help but wonder what kind of backlash it was getting. After a quick Google search, my web page was exploding with comments on the backlash Selena Gomez was getting as a producer of the show. Selena commented on how she almost was going to play the role of Hannah, but decided against it, and is very happy with the way the show is going, regardless of the negative views from some parents and psychiatrist. I think that it was a good move on her part to cast somebody with a not-so recognizable face. It makes it easier to relate, when the character is not a big time celebrity.

http://www.eonline.com/shows/e_news/videos/259511/13-reasons-why-faces-serious-backlash

April 12th, 2017

Tape 4, Side A and B

I just finished episode 8 now, and I’m still feeling about the same as far as the only thing Hannah was wanting was to leave a scar on those who hurt her. In this episode, the other main character, Clay, just got a little more insight on why Tony has been following him around, and been so persistent on getting everything Hannah wanted. This episode got very deep when Tony began to describe the crime scene at Hannah’s house the day she died. In my high school, a friend of mine committed suicide, and when I spoke to her mom, she described that day like Tony did at the beginning of his story, “quiet” with “cops standing around and doing their job”. It gave me chills to relive this time.

IMG_6206.JPG

“13 Reasons Why” home screen.

April 18th, 2017

Who cares?

As I said before, a girl who was not particularly famous at the beginning of this show plays Hannah. Her name is Katherine Langford. After watching the E! story I shared before, and seeing how Selena loved Katherine’s portrayal of Hannah, I wanted to know more about her. I came to find out that she is a young actress on the rise from Australia. She auditioned for the role as Hannah over Skype, and was given 10 days to get a work visa after she was casted. Her sexuality was also a large topic when researching Katherine, and people are very interested in why she is attending Pride Parades and posting about them. I think she is very talented and will go far with her upcoming rolls, and her personal relationships should not be at the top of the Google search list.

http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2017/04/28/netflix-show-13-reasons-whys-katherine-langford-has-written-a-beautiful-lesbian-love-song/

April 25th, 2017

Tape 5, Side A

Episode 9 brings to light yet another sensitive topic, rape. Hannah’s best friend at the time, Jessica, gets raped at a party while she was very intoxicated, and somehow never finds out until the tapes are released. Even then, Justin, her boyfriend, tells her that Hannah lied in her tape, and that never happened.

As I was walking down stairs in my house today, a news station was on our TV, speaking about “13 Reasons Why”. I stopped to briefly listen, and was taken back with how strongly the psychiatrist that was being interviewed felt about the show. Claiming that suicide was being “glamorized”, and that teens were being shown that when they are drowning, there is no way out. The psychiatrist was asking that the show be pulled from Netflix, to protect teens from watching it, and believing that what they are feeling is unfixable. Thoughts of suicide were being compared to mental illnesses by this psychiatrist.

http://www.today.com/parents/13-reasons-why-psychiatrist-calls-netflix-pull-series-t110934

IMG_6204.JPG

“13 Reasons Why” home screen accessed from another device, a laptop.

April 26th, 2017

Tapes 5 and 6

Episodes 10-12 have been the most informative. A death of another student in a car accident has come to light. Truth about Jessica’s rape, Sheri’s roll in the car accident, and Clay’s tape has been revealed. These episodes have seemed a little less like pointing fingers, and a little more like she really wanted her story to be told. I did some more research on the original book that the series is based off of. “13 Reason’s Why” the book, was published on October 18th 2007. The book tells the story with very descriptive words that really create an image that the show has done a good job of portraying. I only read one chapter that I found online, but after investing about 14 hours of my life in this show, I want to continue and read the book as well.

http://www.thirteenreasonswhy.com/index.html

May 1st, 2017

Tape 7 side A

It’s over. You would think that that would mean all the questions are answered, however, the audience was left with many more, making Season 2 a must. Naturally you create an emotional connection with the characters in any show, however I believe mine were a bit stronger because of the actual connections I made to personal experiences. I kept linking each character to the actual people in my high school, which made watching this show both more enjoyable, but more difficult to watch at times. In this episode, Hannah’s suicide is actually shown. My emotions were at an all time high watching Hannah sit in a bath tub, using razor blades to cut her wrists and bleed out. The worst part about it all was watching her parents come in and struggle to keep their daughter alive and help her in any way they could. Even now, just writing this, I have chills and the scene is replaying in my head.

 

Leave a Reply

