Home


{ANCHOR LEAD}
U-S-F HAS A TON OF OPPORTUNITIES FOR THEIR STUDENTS TO GET INVOLVED.
ONE OF THE MOST NOTABLE STUDENT GROUPS ON CAMPUS IS THE P-R-S-S-A.
WHETHER IT BE NETWORKING RESUME WORKSHOPS OR GUEST SPEAKERS THIS STUDENT ORGANIZATION KNOWS HOW TO ADVANCE ITS STUDENTS.
VANESSA LONDONO IS ON SCENE WITH MORE ON HOW TO GET INVOLVED.
{PRSSA PKG}
HERE AT USF, PRSSA HELPS BENEFIT STUDENTS IN THEIR CURRENT ACADEMIC LIVES AS WELL AS FOR THEIR FUTURE CAREERS.
{MILLER INTERVIEW}
{SOTVO}
<00:03-01:47. “My name is Samantha Miller. I am the current events coordinator for USF’s Public Relations Student Society of America, which stands for USF PRSSA, and come next semester I will be the Vice President. USF PRSSA is basically a bunch of PR students and Mass Comm students who get together and we do fund raisers, socials, general body meetings, events and just basically anything that relates to the field of Mass Communication or Public Relations. You don’t have to be in the Public Relations sequence or the Mass Comm major to get into the PRSSA. There’s actually no like application process or anything you can just go to one of our GBMs we have every other Thursday. It’s a very welcoming environment, everyone there is super friendly and we get guest speakers from our parent chapter which is the PRSA so it’s a really good method of meeting professionals and if you’re not trying to get into public relations we really try to promote a sense of unity in the organization.”>
TRT 01:04
{MUNGER INTERVIEW}
{SOTVO}
<00:25-00:58. “Hi I’m Emily Munger and I am a junior PR student  at the University of South Florida. I joined PRSSA in the Spring of 2016. PRSSA has held resume workshops where I learned skills to build up my resume and make it look very competitive and the best it can be.>
TRT 00:17
{CHEE-A-TOW INTERVIEW}
{SOTVO}
<00:03-00:34. “Hi my names Brianne Chee-A-Tow and I’m a junior Mass Comm major and I really enjoy being in PRSSA because its helped me network with people in the Mass Comm department as well as people outside the major. It’s really helped me expand my graphic design portfolio. It’s allowed me to go ahead and do things for other PR majors. I’ve really enjoyed that its let me go ahead and grow and establish myself in the community.”>
TRT 00:22
{END PKG}
TRT 01:59

Web Story:

TAMPA, FL– One of the most influential organizations for Mass Communications students is the PRSSA. The Public Relations Student Society of America is an elite group of future professionals from the University of South Florida focusing on networking and perfecting public relations.

Though aiming specifically at public relations students, the PRSSA is very welcoming and open to other concentrations within the Mass Communication major. The current events coordinator and future vice president, Samantha Miller tells about the ins and outs of the student society. “PRSSA is basically a bunch of PR students and Mass Comm students who get together and we do fund raisers, socials, general body meetings, events and just basically anything that relates to the field of Mass Communication or Public Relations,” said Miller,”We really try to promote a sense of unity in the organization.”

The different concentrations that can benefit from the PRSSA are those such as graphic design. Brianne Chee-A-Tow is a current USF student and a junior in the graphic design track of the Mass Communications major. “It’s really helped me expand my graphic design portfolio. It’s allowed me to go ahead and do things for other PR majors,” said Chee-A-Tow. Students are able to bounce ideas off of each other and offer different networking services through involvement in the PRSSA.

Students are also given great opportunities to enhance their imagine in efforts to benefit them after graduation. Emily Munger, a USF student on the public relations track, has seen great benefits in networking and finding out what works and what doesn’t in the field of public relations. “PRSSA has held resume workshops where I learned skills to build up my resume and make it look very competitive and the best it can be,” said Munger.

PRSSA has launched a new mentor-mentee program which links future PR professionals and students with current PR moguls working in the field. The program is designed to help students refine their craft and be more readily prepared for what their future careers in PR will be throwing at them.

 

Interview 1: Samantha Miller

Londono: Do you mind introducing yourself and letting us know what you do for PRSSA?

Miller: My name is Samantha Miller. I am the current events coordinator for USF’s Public Relations Student Society of America, which stands for USF PRSSA, and come next semester I will be the Vice President.

Londono: What is PRSSA and what does it do?

Miller: USF PRSSA is basically a bunch of PR students and Mass Comm students who get together and we do fund raisers, socials, general body meetings, events and just basically anything that relates to the field of Mass Communication or Public Relations.

Londono: Who can join PRSSA? Do you have to be PR?

Miller: You don’t have to be in the Public Relations sequence or the Mass Comm major to get into the PRSSA. There’s actually no like application process or anything you can just go to one of our GBMs we have every other Thursday. It’s a very welcoming environment, everyone there is super friendly and we get guest speakers from our parent chapter which is the PRSA so it’s a really good method of meeting professionals and if you’re not trying to get into public relations we really try to promote a sense of unity in the organization.

Interview 2: Emily Munger

Londono: Do you mind introducing yourself and tell us about your experiences with PRSSA?

Munger: Hi I’m Emily Munger and I am a junior PR student  at the University of South Florida. I joined PRSSA in the Spring of 2016. PRSSA has held resume workshops where I learned skills to build up my resume and make it look very competitive and the best it can be.

Interview 3: Brianne Chee-A-Tow

Londono: Do you mind introducing yourself and tell us how PRSSA has enhanced your experience?

Chee-A-Tow: Hi my names Brianne Chee-A-Tow and I’m a junior Mass Comm major and I really enjoy being in PRSSA because its helped me network with people in the Mass Comm department as well as people outside the major. It’s really helped me expand my graphic design portfolio. It’s allowed me to go ahead and do things for other PR majors. I’ve really enjoyed that its let me go ahead and grow and establish myself in the community.

Leave a Reply

