Home

{HISTORICAL MOMENT}
{PKG}
{EDITOR NOTE: Final 1}
CHINESE AMERICANS ARE HOPEFUL AFTER A SUCCESSFUL MEETING BETWEEN PRESIDENT DONALD TRUMP AND THE CHINESE PRESIDENT.
TWO HUNDRED AND EIGHTY PEOPLE WENT  TO WEST PALM BEACH FROM TAMPA BAY FOR THE HISTORICAL MOMENT.
TRUMP WELCOMED CHINESE PRESIDENT XI JINPING AT MAR-A-LAGO WITH THEIR FIRST SUMMIT ON APRIL SIXTH.
SOME OF THE AMERICANS ALSO CAME TO SUPPORT.
{SOT}
{EDITOR NOTE: Di Interview}
<00:25-00:41 Di Li, Student Leader “I am here today because I want to be here for this historical moment. As the new U.S. administration rolls in, I want to be here to kind of see that U.S and China are working together and that’s very important to be as a Chinese American.”>
TRT: 00:16
{EDITOR NOTE: John Interview}
<00:42-00:59 John Fortson, American Supporter “I think that with China the trade thing is not fair, and I hopefully president Trump will make it where it will be fair trade, and it will be a level play field, and make the things better for everyone.”>
TRT: 00:17
{EDITOR NOTE: Final 2}
THE CHINESE AMERICANS I SPOKE TO ARE OPTIMISTIC ABOUT WHAT THE MEETING MEANS FOR THE FUTURE OF U-S CHINESE RELATION.
{END OF PKG}

Web Story:

West Palm Beach – Chinese Americans are hopeful after a successful meeting between president Donald trump and the Chinese president. Two hundred and eighty people went to west palm beach from Tampa bay for the historical moment.

Trump Welcomed Chinese President Xi Jinping at Mar-a-Lago with their First Summit on April 6th. Some of the Americans also came to support.

“I am here today because I want to be here for this historical moment,” said Di Li. “As the new U.S. administration rolls in, I want to be here to kind of see that U.S and China are working together and that’s very important to be as a Chinese American.”

“I think that with China the trade thing is not fair, and I hopefully president Trump will make it where it will be fair trade, and it will be a level play field, and make the things better for everyone.” John Fortson said.

The Chinese Americans I spoke to are optimistic about what the meeting means for the future of U.S. Chinese relation.

Interview Transcript

Interviewer: Kaixin Huang

Interviewee: Li Di

Interview Setting: West Palm Beach

Affiliation with Interviewee: Event’s Student leader (Chinese American)

Start of Interview

Interviewer: What is your name?

00:00 interviewee: Hi, my name is Li Di. I am the senior at the University of South Florida.

Interviewer: Why are you here today?

00:25 Interviewee: Today we are at West Palm Beach because the president of China is here, is meeting President Trump. We have lots of people here about 280 from Tampa bay area, and I am here today because I want to be here for this historical moment. As the new U.S. administration rolls in, I want to be here to kind of see that U.S and China are working together and that’s very important to be as a Chinese American.

Interviewer: What do you think about those opposite part?

00:00 Interviewee:  This is the country with free speech, and there are some groups not that many, but they are some groups that kind of don’t like the current Chinese government. They are here some of them are here for religion’s reason, and some of other people are here, I can tell there from Taiwan, I think we kind of respect each other, as long as we respect each other opinion, I am fine with that.

2nd Interviewee: John Fortson

Interview Setting: West Palm Beach

Affiliation with Interviewee:  American who participated in this event

Interviewer: Hi, what’s your name? and How do you know this event?

00:22 Interviewee: My name is John Fortson. I know this event from my wife, she is a Chinese. I am here also to support my wife.

Interviewer: How do you feel about this event?

00:08 Interviewee: That’s a very good event, I think it is important and it is a historical time now as far as the relation with U.S and China, is very very important, it’s a big event.

Interviewer: How do you feel there were much Chinese in here?

00:22 Interviewee: I love Chinese, and most of the people Love Chinese.

Interviewer: Will you always support like Chinese people? and How do you fell about the Good relationship between U.S. and China?

00:42 Interviewee: Absolutely,  I think that with China the trade thing is not fair, and I hopefully president Trump will make it where it will be fair trade, and it will be a level play filed, and make the things better for everyone.

Leave a Reply

